Tags

, , , , ,

Today’s blogging topic, to occupy the final few hours of work I have before leaving for Japan tomorrow, is Nikon cameras! I don’t usually blog on camera equipment, as I very quickly feel out of my depth on the issue. Added to that is the fact that there are numerous camera websites out there, and camera blogging is itself a very technical issue (although I’m discovering that baseball also involves a fair degree of numerical analysis!).

Nonetheless I’ll introduce the new shiny stuff I’m thinking of upgrading to once I get back from Japan. First up is a change in camera- from the entirely capable D40 (that helped me win my Guardian award) to the even more capable Nikon D90.

nikon-d90

I won’t go into the differences- just google “D90” and you’ll find them if you’re interested. What I will talk about is the lenses that I’m considering buying for them. At the moment I  have an 18-55mm, a 55-200mm and a 50mm f/1.8. “f/1.8” refers to the maximum apeture of the lens- the lower the f number, the shallower the depth of field is. In practice this effects the area of sharpness, creating the “blurred” background you get with good portrait shots, with the sharp figure in the foreground- see this example.  The mm measurement is the focal length of the lens. 18mm is standard wide, 55mm is mid-range, and 200mm is a zoom length. I’m considering buying the following new lenses for the D90-

16-85mm VR

dx_16_85_vr

18-105 VR

af-s-dx-nikkor-18-105mm-f35-56g-ed-vr

18-200mm VR

nikkor-18-200mm-f-35-56g

The differences to consider are the focal lengths, the build quality and the sharpness.

But I think I’ll stop there- unfortunately any serious interest in photography inevitably drags you into the geeky world of comparing pin-cushion distortions, sharpness and various apertures and other non-comprehensible statistical analysis. Its a unique hobby that combines the scientific based-geekiness that attracts some, and the arty photographic style-ness that attracts others, though to be honest all of the stats can become fairly meaningless in practice.

