I’m currently in the throes of trying to decide my future, once again. This time last year I was living in Japan and wondering what to do next with my life. Now I’m in Seoul, and am confronted with a similar situation. I’ll be 26 this year- not too old- but old enough to want a bit of direction in my life from now on. Deciding what to do next is hard- and I know I’m not alone in this. Most people sweat at one stage of their lives or anther about where they are heading, and what they want- those that don’t normally lead lives that I wouldn’t want to lead.

This time around I’m toying with doing a Masters at the School of Oriental and African Studies, or SOAS, in London. It would be in “Pacific Asian Studies” or “Japanese Studies”, allowing me to further my history from the undergraduate degree I did, and get some formal training in the Japanese language. Another option is Tokyo- the last three years of my life have convinced me that this is a place I really do want to live, combining the hustle and bustle of a big city with the Japaneseness of, well, Japan.

People say that when you’re deciding what to do you should list your hobbies, interests and skills, and the options available to you. The options that appeal to me are

1. Doing a Masters, because I like education and I’m good at it

2. Travel, because there’s so much of the world left to see, and I want to see it while I’m young

3. Move To Tokyo, because if I don’t do it now it might be too late.

4. Move to another country, because you should gather as many unique experiences in life as possible

I suppose my main problem is not having a career path- I’ve forever been in academia, or teaching English as a foreign language, which is not something I want to do forever. This adds to the difficulties of moving to Toky0- what would I do to subsist there?

I have no great burning desire to head home to the UK, but at the same time I have no career path that would allow me to stay in Asia, or elsewhere, without growing tired of teaching English.

Ah, questions questions. And not many answers.

