Things have been quiet on the blog front recently- apologies. In fact, things have been quiet on every front really, with usual till-morning drinking on the weekends, and lessons during the week, with the occasional trip to the gym. Underlying all this is the growing list of tasks I need to complete before leaving Seoul: visa for Vietnam, flights to England, parcel back to England…

Baseball is also quiet this week with the Japanese Kouryuusen, or Inter-League, finished. To be honest I lost my way with it toward the end, due to Hanshin’s general crapness. Softbank triumphed for a second year in a row, and Hanshin came 9th. Games resume from Friday, with Hanshin facing the Baystars at Koshien.

From the weekend the baseball hots up- Korean baseball that is! Doosan take on Samsung on Saturday, then there’s a run of three Heroes-Doosan games during next week. I don’t have any lessons, and my friends here are a motley bunch of Heroes supporters, so this is the closest to a baseball rivalry that there will be for me in Korea. I’m going to try to make it to all three games if I can.

Since finishing Heisig my kanji studies have taken a backseat too- I think a rest is ok, and although I’ve started on my next project- Kanji Odyssey’s approach to learning the readings of kanji through compounds, after adding a few cards to Anki I realised my reviews per day were very quickly increasing. So I’ve stopped- I’ll take a few weeks off, then try to hit the books again. The marathon of Nihongo continues…

Expect some Korean baseball excitement on the blog next week, as well as some other stuff if I get round to it during my copious free time at work.

