With academics, students, journalists, literati and occasional celebrities, the British Library is a varied and interesting place to do my reading. The main reason I’ve moved here, a few hundred metres from the SOAS library, is that it has big desks and really comfy chairs. Plus massive reading rooms with impressive titles like “Maps Room” and “Rare Books” room. Ultimately it hasn’t made reading about Japanese peasants any more interesting, but certainly a bit more tolerable.

My first essay on the Tokugawa state is almost done, and soon enough I’ll be moving onto contemporary Japanese foreign relations for my Politics module. In between I have a statistics assignment for Japanese, which thankfully I can base on the Hanshin Tigers!

Thats the most interesting news I have today, sorry.

 

 

 

