Tags

Chungking Express is a 1994 Hong Kong film by Wong Kar-Wai. It’s two tales told in sequence, that do not in any way interact. Both involve policemen as the central protagonists. The first deals with a policeman who’s just broken up with his girlfriend. Everyday he buys a tin of pineapple. He then meets a mysterious woman who drug smuggler/underworld character who chases lots of Indians round the Chungking Mansions. The second, more involving story concerns another policeman who is also dealing with a breakup. He meets a kooky snack bar server, who keeps breaking into his apartment to tidy things up. They finally arrange a date, but she stands him up. She returns a year later, and there future is left open ended.

In terms of plot Chungking Express may be disappointing. In terms of style and capturing the feeling of Hong Kong, I can only say that I found myself transported back to when I was there. Bizarrely one of the key signs of this was a Cranberries song in the movie – for a couple of reasons I already associated the Cranberries with Hong Kong, and to hear a song by them here- Dreams- was really weird. Secondly, the second time I went to Hong Kong me and a friend had stayed in the infamous Chungking Mansions- and so to see it represented here was pretty cool. It’s a bizarre and unique place, worth staying in for a couple of nights mostly to explore a bit and say you’ve stayed there rather than because its comfy or even has a good vibe. I really enjoyed Chungking Express, and recommend it.

